2011

Nashville. Definitely on the list of my top favorite things.

I went this past weekend to go cheer on the Vols and ring in the New Jear (Holla back Dave Barnes)–Nashvegas style babay. Ryan, two of his roomies, and I witnessed the tragedy that is the Music City Bowl. There are no words. But a picture is worth a thousand so here is one heck of a picture for ya…

Note the happy orange people swamping the field and the trophy/winner’s ceremony backdrop being rolled onto the field. Unbelievable. At least it was a memorable game. And we got even more football than we bargained for–double OT. Nothin’ like it.

After the infamous game, we drove to our friend Betsy’s house where we stayed for the next two days. There was laughter and catch phrase and sweet rolls and Jackson Lake and more football. Loved just hanging out with these people that are way cooler than me. 

New Year’s eve we went to Jackson’s (Y-U-M) for our last meal of MMX and, after much deliberation, decided to venture downtown for a free concert feat. the legendary Phil Vasser and to witness the dropping of a guitar on Broadway to ring in the new year. I think it was the first New Year’s Eve that I spent NOT predominately in a house, so that was different and fun. Phil Vasser’s “The Hot Tub Song” was definitely a crowd favorite…”I wanna get get get get get get get get get in a hot tub.” As do I Phil. As do I.

I decided that 2010 was my favorite year thus far. I can definitely say that the Lord has stretched me and grown me so much since last January 1st. I love that I have absolutely no idea what this new decade has in store. And I love that God designed life to get better and better with each day as we seek to follow him and live out of a desire to choose him and not ourselves. So bring it on, 2011.

To still writing “#-#-2010” on everything for another month and a half. Cheers.